Are readers dictating e-Book prices

Everyone wants a good deal, especially if something is free and e-Readers may be dictating the future of e-Books. There are many sites devoted to getting cheap if not free books. I will not list them all, they are easy to find with Google magic. I subscribe to Book Bub and I can select what type of books I am interested in and everyday in my inbox are books, some for 99 cents, some for free. Some are $2.99-what to they think I am a millionaire. Being an avid reader and bargain consumer I love it. The cheap ones I mean.

Book Bub is one of the best and I don’t want to know how many sites like them are out there. As an indie e-book author on Amazon I am afraid to find out. But we just might be on the forefront of change, as who will spend $3.99 for an e-Book, especially by an unknown, when they can pick and choose great buys, some from famous authors by signing up for a newsletter, a newsletter that, in essence, does the search for you.

The original prices for my books were $2.99 because that is what everyone said at the time. It became the standard. Of course one must always wonder who THEY are. Are they The Hardly Enlightened Yahoos. It was, however, the prevailing accepted price. Then someone said it should be $3.99 because if you value your work, believe you have written good stories, then you should be paid accordingly to distance yourself from those $2.99 folk.

I thought about it, then changed the price. I did not notice any significant downturn in sales so kept it at the higher price. At some point I thought of reverting to the original price during a sluggish sales period, but I then read a blog that said once you raise the price it is not a good idea to go back as the readers who paid the higher price may feel cheated. It made sense, but I have to come to the opinion it doesn’t matter. In the end you must do what you feel is best, not what others say or think, no matter if you believe they-remember them- make sense.

But will it now make a difference? Is $2.99 now too high a price with so many savvy readers paying 99 cents, at the most $1.99 for quality books. There is a proliferation of sales and cheap e-Books, and the smart reader knows this and loves it. In the future indie authors may be squeezed out of the market  just as they are squeezed out from traditional publishing. I have no illusions of being a best selling writer, but a steady income  of mad money would be nice.

So what to do? This year I will advertise more, and I may revert to my old price (still percolating in my sub-human brain), but all of us Indie e-Book authors are facing important questions, none of which have to do with plot and structure.

On my Amazon page you will find my books at $3.99. Buy now before the price drops.

 

4 Comments

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, e-books, fiction, indie writers, self publishing, writers, writing

4 responses to “Are readers dictating e-Book prices

  1. jimjacquet2000@yahoo.com

    Terry–interesting blog on ebook pricing. Not sure if my own ebooks are an atypical example, but the one that sells consistantly is priced at $3.99. The ones priced at $2.99 and $1.99 rarely sell.Not sure if the reason is price or subject matter. I certainly hope I won’t have to price my books at 99 cents–an author deserves to make SOME money.
    Jim Jacquet

    Like

  2. Hi there, I think that you have made. Great post and posed an intriguing question. I believe that a book’s price is a tool and knowing what to place it at depends what result you intend to get. If you want to increase your readership, then make it free. If you want to make money figure out the highest price that you can sell it for before sales start to tank. Having a goal may make the process easier. I hope this helps. 🙂

    Like

  3. $3.99 is sounding like a magic number. Maybe readers think they get what they pay for after all…?

    Unless the book is free, of course.

    Like

Leave a Reply

