Book addiction and what to do about it

book addiction

 

As the poster to the left says book collection is an obsession, and addiction, and it might even be perverse. I suffer from this disease. Before writing this blog I counted 101 unread books, the hardcover, or paperback kind of books. I also have 37 unread e-books.

I will never finish reading all these unread books because I have a list of books, both handheld and e-books that I want to buy and I also find myself in places that sell books for a buck or two and darned if I can’t find a book or two in those dens of Hell. My local library has a few sections of books for sale and it was there I found a 1996 Random House hardcover edition of “A Confederacy of Dunces” by John Kennedy Toole and a Penguin edition of short stories by Grace Paley. Total cost $3.00. You understand why those books could not be passed up for three singles, right? 

There are only two alternatives. Read all the books I currently have before buying another book. Sorry, can’t happen. I will be dead before they are all read. Can’t go down this road. I am not sure it is about the reading, but about the procuring. One book I had been seeking for a few years finally showed up as a Kindle edition. But though I have longed wanted to read the cult classic “Bone Music” it is still on my Kindle app waiting for me to finish other books I am working on. Ah, but I have it and the feeling of procurement was wonderful.

10487188_624609717653306_6188654867875167110_nA second alternative is too stop buying books. If you think that is valid, then you are an outsider, a square-jawed book-totaller with little or no humanity. Have you no compassion?

No there is no cure. All I can do is continue on my course, keep reading, keep buying, and hope I can make some dent in my personal library.

The worst that can happen is what happened to Henry Bemis, played by Burgess Meredith in “Time Enough at Last,” a 1959 episode of “The Twilight Zone,” in which Bemis, an avid reader, is the last man on earth, and has all the time in the world to read all the classics and when he sits down to read, his bottle-glass thick glasses fall off his face and they break. Without those glasses he could not read the page. Tough break Bemis.

As Captain Jack Sparrow once said, “The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?”

I have no problem. Pass me that Tom Robbins book would you please. I just bought it on Amazon while I was writing this blog. (I have my own book driver who picks up at an Amazon warehouse). You understand.

My website

My Amazon page for those in need to add to their library. No reading required.

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, fiction, humor, writing

4 responses to “Book addiction and what to do about it

  1. I so see myself in your words…. 🙂

    Like

  2. jimjacquet2000@yahoo.com

    Boy, do I relate!

    Like

  3. I, so, relate!! At this point, because of lack of spare cash, I consider myself a ‘dry book drunk’!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. jimjacquet2000@yahoo.com

    Best place for inexpensive books is Goodwill. I always find something interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

