You can’t help who you are-even in your writing

There is a desire within myself to be a more literary writer, whether D.H. Lawrence, John Steinbeck, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Phillip Roth, John Updike, or any of a hundred or so others. There are great writers in each generation, so many to choose from. But it is not my nature. I can’t write that way, trying to do so would end in failure.

Just as Stephen King and Dean Koontz can not help but write the stories they do, neither can I.

Two reviews I have had on Amazon both refer to my Hollywood noir style in Loonies in Hollywood, an e-novel about the murder of silent film director William Desmond Taylor. It is a fictional account of a true story and my character, Chet Koski, solves the murder . . .sort of. (I know I am ending a sentence with a preposition, something we have been told not to do, but that rule is disappearing, the reason being it makes no sense-not ending the sentence with a preposition, but the rule itself.

But I digress; and it is fun to do at times, so there.

Back to the point. In my two e-novels I inject the stories with humor because I see the looniness of situations, of people, of life. It is not ridicule, but you can look at life and all the bad things and let it drag you down, or you can see the silliness at times. Just as they say ‘You are what you eat,’  so it is true that you are what you write.

Even in my collection of short stories that is in the horror genre, one reviewer said they are Twilight-Zone stories, and I can not help myself ; I must inject humor in some of the stories. Notice I said some. There are stories without humor, so I can do it. But then again they are not literature. If I could write a short story it would be “A Rose for Emily” by William Faulkner. It is one of the best short stories written.

So I am stuck being me, am stuck eating what I eat, and stuck writing what I write. I am a prisoner to myself. I am loony and I can live with it. My advice to other writers is to write who you are. After all, you can’t help being you, so relish who you are.

My Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/Terry-Nelson/e/B00EEVHN38

Leave a comment

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, fiction, fiction writing, humor, Uncategorized, writers, writing

Leave a Reply

