How to write from your experience

Here is the opening paragraph to my novel in progress, the title of which I hesitate to reveal for reasons of paranoia.

The narrator is Chet Koski, former baseball player for the New York Giants-one season only-now a screenwriter for Paramount Studio. The Matt he refers to is fictional screenwriter Matt Hobby, not to be confused with Pat Hobby, a screenwriter creation of F. Scott Fitzgerald. I mention this for legal reasons.

Without further ado: First paragraph, chapter eleven.

“I liked my locked room mystery and decided to ditch the idea Matt and I were working on, if indeed we were actually working. I think we were just talking and talking is not working, though I wish it were. Besides Zukor wants a script and with Matt off to a dentist or who knows where and was unlikely to follow through on our idea, it was time to buckle down, no more procrastinating, no more daydreaming, no more killing time with things you tell yourself are important, but, in truth, if you are honest with yourself, are mere illusions of importance, the keep yourself busy distractions.”

Yes, that is the plight of the writer, at least this writer, which is an illustration of writing from experience. In truth few writers, if any, write about experience. What experience did Agatha Christie have murdering people? What experience did Jules Verne have 20,000 leagues under the sea? What experience did Arthur C. Clarke have in outer space?

To a certain extent you can write what you know, which in my case is severely limited to arcane stuff nobody cares about, but the key is to include it, using yourself for example. I do have a bad habit of procrastinating about writing,  even when I have the time to write. So  I used that in the opening paragraph with the character of Chet, who often bemoans the writing process. In point of fact I wrote this blog when I began to proofread chapter eleven and thought the opening paragraph a good idea for a blog. So now I am procrastinating editing and writing on my novel by writing this blog.

It is insidious.

When you write from your experience or what you know, it is not the facts that interest, but the universal feelings we can identify with and how to use those feelings when you create your characters.

In case you are wondering what Chet was up to in 1911 with the Giants or how he solved the murder of silent film director William Desmond Taylor, he will explain in my e-novels found at Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Terry-Nelson/e/B00EEVHN38

Now I must get back to work.

Leave a comment

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, humor, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

