Ray Bradbury’s trick for writers

You never know where you find things. I have an e-book on my Kindle entitled “Manage your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind.” The title says it all. It is a self-help book for creative people, primarily writers with lots of tips from writers, creative gurus, and assorted assortments with the intent of getting your writing and routine kick started.

In the book Ray Bradbury says the following:

“In my early twenties I floundered into a word-association process in which I simply got out of bed each morning, walked to my desk, and put down any word or series of words that happened along in my head.

The Lake. The Night. The Crickets. The Ravine. The Attic. The Basement. The Trapdoor. The Baby. The Crowd. The Night Train. The Fog Horn. The Scythe. The Carnival. The Carousel. The Dwarf. The Mirror maze. The skeleton.

I would then take arms against the word, or for it, and bring on an assortment of characters to weigh the word and show me its meaning in my own life. An hour or two hours later, to my amazement, a new story would be finished and done.” *

I have read about word association in other books and used a variation of it on my e-novel in progress when I was stuck on where the story would move next. It worked.

While the book offers examples that are simple to follow, and while the book is useful for writers, in the end no matter what Stephen King says about starting the days routine or Bradbury says about word association, or any motivation guru says, in the end it is up to you, the writer, to you the creative well, to do what you must do. You must set aside the time and find your inspiration, your motivation to pound the keyboard.

*Glei, Jocelyn K.; 99U (2013-05-21). Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind (The 99U Book Series) (Kindle Locations 1203-1205). Amazon Publishing. Kindle Edition.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, Uncategorized, writing

One response to “Ray Bradbury’s trick for writers

  1. Zen in the art of writing- ray bradbury

    Like

Leave a Reply

