Kurt Vonnegut and the joy of creativity

In talking about creativity, Kurt Vonnegut said, “The arts are not a way of making a living. They are a very human way of making life more bearable. Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possibly can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something.”

I like Vonnegut’s fiction and there is much truth in the quote. Yes the arts are not  a way of making a living, but I am bothered when artists who have succeeded say it. Still, for the rest of us, it does make life more bearable. I have a need to tell stories and publishing e-novels satisfies that need.

I do not sing in the shower, but I will dance to the radio, especially when the shades are down, the curtains closed, and I can really let loose. If you saw me dance you would thank me for denying the world the opportunity to watch me through a window.

In the 7th grade we had to write a one page fictional story in English class. I vaguely remember what I wrote, but was nervous about how it would be received. The teacher read the story aloud to the class and it got the laughs I hoped for in the appropriate spot. Creating something was fun, but the reward of it being well received was like being able to walk on air.

Today I have two e-novels on Amazon, a collection of horror short stories and a third novel on the way. I still experience the joy of creating a story and when I get a good review, while I no longer feel I am walking on air, I feel gratified that someone got what I was trying to do in the story.

So the moral from Vonnegut is create for the joy of creating. When sales are slow, or you feel discouraged, remember it is about the art of creation, the joy of taking yourself into your own little world.

My authors page is:

http://www.amazon.com/Terry-Nelson/e/B00EEVHN38

Leave a comment

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

