How to let writing ideas bounce out of your head

There are times when, and I am sure this has happened to you, that you have an idea, in my case the other day it was a short story, but it lies in the swampy miasma of your brain. You stare at the swamp bog, you can’t see it, but you know it is there. You think and think, but nothing.

What I had was about 500 words of what had been the opening of my e-novel “Loonies in the Dugout.” I cut it along with many passages to get the story started sooner. As in get to the point stupid. But I liked those 500 words. So I kept it thinking I could use it for a short story some day.

An idea popped into my head, but quickly sank in the swamp before I could see it. I knew how I wanted to use those 500 words. The question is what would follow the 500. I knew it had to be a murder mystery, the why I must of necessity keep secret.

People can overthink, trying too hard to force the solution. So I let it go. About two days later, the weather must have cleared as the swamp was drained, and I saw where the story was going to go. The excitement when this happens is the ‘voila’ moment. It comes to you in a flash, a bolt out of the sky that strikes you with what you are sure is genius.

We flatter ourselves of course. It is more relief than anything. Problem solved. I have the answer. I know what to do with those 500 words. I know how the murder mystery will play out. I wrote about 1,000 words to get it going when the ‘voila’ moment hit. I do not need another bolt from the sky to kick start me. I will get back to it soon. I still have a e-novel to write that I am 25,000 words into.

I will say the short story and novel are related. Thank you lightening bolt.

The point is if you get stuck in your writing someway, or in life to broaden things out, just let go. Your mind works like your security system on your computer. I get a message sneaking in from the side, that says, “Certain background tasks were performed while you computer was idle.”  Let your inner brain work in the background while the rest of you brain goes into idle. You will soon get the right message. 

Leave a comment

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

