What one thing will e-Book writers never discover

I bought a large paper bag full of old books for $1 at a used book fund raiser. I chose the books, and among those I chose was a Literary Guild edition of “Essays of Montaigne” published in 1947. Fast forward a few years and I checked online to see what it was selling for. Depending on condition it was going for $130 to $200. What made the book valuable were the illustrations. They were done by Salvador Dali.

So I own a rare book.

I can not foresee e-Novelists, of which I am one, ever having a rare e-Novel. Of course society, culture, trends, all change in ways unexpected. But still, will there be auctions for rare e-Book manuscripts? Since an e-Novelist can go in and change his book after publication, is there such a thing as a ‘first edition?’ 

E-Book writers enter the digital world because hardcover book publishing is too to hard to crack. I am convinced good writers can spend their entire lives making queries, writing novels, articles, short stories, toiling long hours, and getting nowhere.

This is not to say all e-novelists are good writers, though many are. But in the digital world we have stories to tell, stories we hope will engage, entertain, and enlighten (the three E’s), and along the way, we hope to make a few dollars; though millions are preferred, hundreds are acceptable.  Dare I say good reviews have more worth than sales?

In the end I see digital books as disposal and not rare.  Even reviews are disposable. I received a four star review for “Loonies in Hollywood” and eight months later the review disappeared from my Kindle page. How does a four star review disappear? 

With one click on my Kindle I can make a book disappear into the e-Book trash bin, the cyber world black hole. If one could enter that nether world, a rare e-Book could possibly be found. But who decides if it is rare? And who would buy it? And why?

You can read the remaining reviews while they still exist on my Amazon page.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

