A guerilla tactic for selling your short stories.

I spent the better part of March moving to a different city, same state. I don’t know where you live, but in my state-not my mental state, you don’t want to got there-but in Washington, on the wet side of the mountains, you will see at most freeway exits a person holding up a sign. The signs vary , but the message is the same: “Homeless, anything helps. God Bless.” The person looks scruffy, the clothes are dirty, the men often bearded, and they have a sad, woeful expression like a lonely puppy. Sometimes they have a dog looking healthier than the sign holder. Of course you rarely see the sign holders when it is snowing or raining. One would think this is the best time to elicit sympathy and make more money.

But most are not homeless. In fact I saw a women drive up in an SUV,  park near the exit, then walk to the off ramp. It was her job to panhandle, as it is for most, if not all, of these people. But it got me to thinking what I would do if worse came to worse. I would run off copies of my short stories and make a sign reading, “Your contribution to starving writer gets you a short story.” And I would print big, unlike these small signs that you can barely read. The idea came about because there was once a juggler/street performer who was giving something for your contribution. 

But alas, I am not homeless. I can’t panhandle at freeway exits, but feel free to take my spot. War wounds prevent me from standing for long periods of time. I prefer to hide out in my room pounding out stories and novels with my cat and dog at my feet, both of whom could use a good meal. Economic circumstances forced us to move to a humbler abode in a smaller city as the state does not cover all my mental expenses.

But I can panhandle electronically. Much easier and rain or snow I can panhandle from the comfort of my chair. So here are my e-Books on Amazon. Feel free to read about them-or read excerpts on my website. I have links to help you with your contributions. My dog and cat will pray for you. God Bless.

Authors page: http://www.amazon.com/Terry-Nelson/e/B00EEVHN38

Loonies in Hollywood: http://www.amazon.com/Loonies-Hollywood-Terry-Nelson-ebook/dp/B00EHK4OJ2/ref=la_B00EEVHN38_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1396887716&sr=1-1

Excerpt from Loonies in Hollywood: http://terrynelson.net/looniesinhollywood.html

Loonies in the Dugout: http://www.amazon.com/Loonies-Dugout-Terry-Nelson-ebook/dp/B00EEN7YNA/ref=la_B00EEVHN38_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1396887716&sr=1-2

Excerpt from Loonies in the Dugout: http://terrynelson.net/looniesinthedugout.html

Cemetery Tales and other Phantasms: http://www.amazon.com/Cemetery-Tales-other-Phantasms-Nelson-ebook/dp/B00G9JND9Q/ref=la_B00EEVHN38_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1396887716&sr=1-3

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, humor, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

