Writers block, a barefoot Aristotle, and virtuous cynics

I don’t believe in writers block. I have mentioned this before.

I wrote the above sentence 5 hours, 37 minutes, and 29 seconds ago, when I sat down at the keyboard-for only the ancients sit down at a typewriter-and despite having attended Ford’s theatre on the night President Lincoln was assassinated-I do not consider myself an ancient.

But it is difficult to stare at a blank word doc. page wondering what to say, which is why I make notes of topics to write about, culled from experience, my memoirs (real and imagined), books, the web, and things I make up, which in fact, might be true.

My first tidbit of the day is about Aristotle. If you don’t know who he is, Aristotle was a thinker in ancient Greece, an age in which I would flourish, because I think more than I work (a loathsome task to be sure). In the 4th century before Christ walked in Judea, Aristotle wrote a thin little volume entitled “Poetics.” It is still used today for playwrights, theatre students, and theatre lovers to study. It is the bible on the art of drama. He wrote about a plays action, its passion, plot, characters, and everything anyone needs to know.

He was considered a great philosopher, studied and contributed to all types of sciences, and perhaps was a genius. On the other hand-or I should say foot- he believed going barefoot diminished the libido. I have no idea how he came to that conclusion unless it was from personal experience. I don’t go barefoot because of slithering snakes who like to attack male feet. Aristotle has his believes, I have mine.

I shall close with another Greek philosopher, one Antisthenes, an ancient older than Aristotle. Antisthenes was a student of Socrates another thinker who liked to argue about everything.  It was Antisthenes we have to thank for a common word we all use today. He founded a school Cynosarges (white dog) and his students were called kynikos (doglike). He and his students ignored the customs of the day, despised wealth and fame, living instead, a virtuous life of aesthetics. They were not a fun group, rarely hosting or going to parties. It was from his school that we have the word ‘cynic.’ I think cynics, as we use the word today, see the world accurately. I am neither virtuous, not an aesthetic. I am a fun cynic.

So you see there is no such thing as writers block. You just start somewhere and end up who knows where.

My Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/Terry-Nelson/e/B00EEVHN38  My website: http://terrynelson.net/  Twitter: Mr. Book

Leave a comment

Filed under dalies, humor, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

