Most prolific author in world, inspiration, and resolutions

It is easy for writers to say we are working on a novel, whether it is actual writing or researching, but after reading about Jose Carlos Ryoki de Alpoim Inoue, I am shamed by my lack of work ethic. He was born in Brazil in 1946 to a Brazilian woman and Japanese father. At the age of forty he left medicine to become a writer and between 1986 and 1996 he wrote 1,058 novels, about one every three days. He has slowed down a bit, but last I read he was at 1, 075.  Perhaps writers cramp, or writers brain cramp, slowed him down.

He apparently has no concept of writers block, nor does he follow one of my writing rules: Never put off today what you can put off for a week, if not longer. Putting something off until tomorrow is too must pressure. It means I have to think about tomorrow and that means lack of sleep as thinking keeps me awake. But by putting something off for a week means plenty of rest and dream filled sleep.

I read Ryoki writes police stories, mysteries, thrillers, romances, spy stories, and westerns, and has at least 39 pen names. According to his profile 999 books were written during a six year span and accounted for 95% of books published in Brazil. He has also ghost written for other people and worded as an editor. He claims he has on occasion written three romance books in one day by working all night. I get the feeling he does not eat, go to the bathroom, sleep, has neither friends nor family, and does not watch TV. Something is wrong with this guy. Has he not heard all work and no play makes other writers terribly upset. He has upstaged us all.

Of course I have no idea of the quality of his work. Bu there is something to be said for being prolific and he is the current Guinness world record holder for most published books.

My resolution for the new year is to spend more time writing my new novel. I wrote Ryoki’s name on a Post- it and stuck it to my computer as inspiration. I will map out a schedule, write long hours, edit with precision, and rededicate myself to my craft. I have not set a schedule, but I plan on working on it next week. Inspiration is often slow during New Years Day bowl games.

In the meantime here is my Amazon page. http://www.amazon.com/Terry-Nelson/e/B00EEVHN38

 

Leave a comment

Filed under dalies, e-book publishing, humor, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

