What is a the most important thing for a writer to do.

If I knew who made the quote I would cite the person, but I have no idea who said, “The simple act of sitting down to write is the most important thing you can do.” On the other hand maybe it is best we don’t know. I like the quote, but there is something wrong with it.

There is truth in the first part of the quote. Sitting down to write is a simple act. I want you to watch this amazing slight of hand video taken in Beijing. It lasts 4:33. When finished, come back and I will tell you something about the video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_D6H-qNBFk&feature=player_embedded.

The man in the video, like any magician, relies on distracting you, making you look one direction so he can do something when you are looking elsewhere.  I sit down to write everyday. It is easy to do, a simple act. But often I get distracted because I find videos like this on Facebook or YouTube. But aren’t you glad I shared it with you.

Then there are times when I have the urge to hear a favorite song, like this one.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vnhDIGTldho.

Or if I want to get riled up with liberal indignation, I listen to Matt Damon in “Good Will Huntinghttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8rQNdBmPek&feature=related.

So you see, sitting down to write is not the most important thing you can do. Anyone can sit down to write, nothing important in that. It is a good intention to sit down, but writers are easily distracted as you have noticed if you watched any of the above videos. I distracted you with my sleight of electronic hand.

The lesson for today class, is if you plan on sitting down to write, then the most important thing you can do is write. Do not go to Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and so on. You should of course come here to this blog for valuable information and insight. By the way, if you missed one of the videos above, you still have time to watch them. I am not really distracting you. I am being social.

1 Comment

Filed under e-book publishing, humor, Uncategorized, writing

One response to “What is a the most important thing for a writer to do.

  1. I’m guilty of this all the time. Pinterest, Twitter, my blog. Next thing I know 3 hours have gone by and I have zero words written in my novel. It’s awful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

