e-book novelist murdered in parallel universe

Did the headline get your attention?

There is a reason which I shall get to. First it must be understood that my brain, for lack of better word, functions slower than most humans. If most brains run on broadband, my brain is dial-up.

I have read numerous times how a books description is vital in grabbing readers attention. If you want book sales it is a must. I revised mine more times than I read articles on book descriptions.

The other day I read the descriptions for my two e-books on Amazon, and thought both were informing and descriptive. But then my brain finally dialed up. They did not grab. I will even say they were somewhat boring. The descriptions accurately told about each book, but it did not make one want to click the purchase button. There was no hook.

William Desmond Taylor directing the silent fi...

William Desmond Taylor directing the silent film Top of New York (1921), several months before his death (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Some have purchased my books, but I want to attract more readers. So I revised the two descriptions. Here is the original one on my Amazon page for Loonies in Hollywood and the revised one follows.

The Novel is a serious mystery with loony characters. 

Based on the true story of the most famous unsolved murder in Hollywood history, that of silent film director William Desmond Taylor, the story examines many aspects of the case. 

Chester Koski, a writer for Famous-Players Lasky, is told by a studio executive to find out what happened at the bungalow of murdered silent film director William Taylor. 

Chet and his wife Eveleen are aided by a police detective who apprises Chet of the investigation; by Clancy, a 22-year old wealthy flapper; by August Carlson, a low level hood; and by a blackmailing actress, named Patricia Palmer. There are many suspects: Actress Mabel Normand who was the last to see Taylor alive; Mary Miles Minter, a young actress enamored of Taylor; Minter’s overprotective mother Charlotte Shelby; Tom Dixon, wealthy pencil heir and jealous suitor of Minter; and Edward Sands, Taylor’s former valet and known thief who has disappeared. 

 And when Chet discovers the truth about the murder, he discovers a truth about himself. 

And now the revised copy:

Who killed silent film director William Desmond Taylor?

Loonies in Hollywood answers that question.

Chester Koski, a writer for Famous-Players Lasky, is told by a studio executive to find out what happened at the bungalow of murdered silent film director William Taylor. Before long nearly everyone in Hollywood is aware Chet is trying to solve the murder. He is targeted by a blackmailer, his wife is kidnapped, he is accused of killing his wife’s former boyfriend, gives a 22 year old flapper a gin bath, and his new radio is stolen. There are many suspects: Actress Mabel Normand who was the last to see Taylor alive; Mary Miles Minter, a young actress enamored of Taylor; Minter’s overprotective mother Charlotte Shelby; Tom Dixon, wealthy pencil heir and jealous suitor of Minter; and Edward Sands, Taylor’s former valet and known thief who has disappeared. When Chet discovers the truth about the murder, he learns a truth about himself, a truth that may protect the killer.

The revision is, I am sure you agree, much better. However, the gremlins are at it again.  Though I followed the same procedure in revising both book descriptions in Kindle Direct, only “Loonies in the Dugout” shows the new description on Amazon. The changes I proposed above for “Loonies in Hollywood” did not go through. Welcome to my e-world.

So I have gone back to Kindle Direct to try and make the loony change yet again. Now I sit and wait to see if it goes through. Why me, oh electronic god, why me?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under e-book publishing, humor, Uncategorized, writing

Leave a Reply

